Équipe

⬅ Back

Courtney Furner

Collaboratrice

Admission

Australie, 2012

Nationalité

Australienne, polonaise

Langues

Allemand , Anglais , Français

Zurich

Stampfenbachplatz 4
P.O. Box 212
8042 Zurich
Suisse

Contact

+41 58 105 2100

Courtney Furner a rejoint LALIVE en 2017. Ses principaux domaines d’activité sont l’arbitrage commercial international et d’investissement et le droit international public. Elle est également intervenue dans le cadre de contentieux commerciaux.

Avant de rejoindre LALIVE, Courtney Furner exerçait en tant que collaboratrice auprès de l’honorable juge Robert Mazza de la Cour suprême d’Australie-Occidentale (Cour d’appel 2015-2016) et au sein de l’équipe de contentieux de Norton Rose Fulbright à Perth, d’abord en tant qu’avocate-stagiaire puis en tant que collaboratrice (2010-2014). Elle a également enseigné la procédure civile à l’Université d’Australie-Occidentale (2015) et a effectué un stage au Tribunal pénal international pour l’ex-Yougoslavie créé par les Nations Unies à la Haye (2008).

Courtney Furner est membre de plusieurs associations professionnelles dont l’International Bar Association, le Young ICCA, l’Arbitral Women, l’European Society of International Law, l’International Law Association, l’Australian and New Zealand Society of International Law et la German Academic Exchange Service Alumni Association. Elle est également intervenue en tant que juge dans le cadre de concours de plaidoiries, et en tant que volontaire dans le cadre d’un Programme de détention des immigrants de la Croix-Rouge australienne. Elle a aussi été vice-présidente du Comité des jeunes avocats de la Law Society of Western Australia.

Courtney Furner a été nommée Junior Woman Lawyer de l’année par la Women Lawyers of Western Australia pour sa contribution à la profession d’avocat en moins de cinq ans de carrière (2015) et Dispute Resolution Scholar par l’International Bar Association pour son article sur le contentieux international (2015).

Courtney Furner est titulaire de deux maîtrises en lettres et en droit de l’Université d’Australie-Occidentale (2012) et d’un LL.M. in International Dispute Settlement (MIDS) de la faculté de droit de Genève et de l’Institut de Hautes Etudes Internationales et du Développement de l’Université de Genève (MIDS-Young ICCA Scholar et Valedictorian, 2016-2017). Elle a également étudié le droit à l’Université de Vienne (2007-2008), l’Académie européenne d’Otzenhausen (2009), l’Université Louis-et-Maximilien de Munich (2013), l’Université de Salzbourg (2013) et l’Académie de droit international de La Haye (2014). Durant ses études à l’Université de Vienne, elle a représenté l’Autriche au Telders International Law Moot Court Competition à La Haye au cours duquel elle a été récompensée par les prix du meilleur orateur et du meilleur mémoire (Défendeur).

Young ICCA (together with Equity, Kinstellar & Jurvenshservice)

Young ICCA Skills Training Workshop on Advocacy in International Arbitration

11/10/2019 Kyiv Courtney Furner Conférencière : Practical exercise – preparing Requests and Answers in ICC arbitration

Pour plus d’informations, voir le programme.

People

Courtney Furner

Associate

Admission :

Australia, 2012

Nationality :

Australian, Polish

Languages :

English , French , German

Zurich

Stampfenbachplatz 4
P.O. Box 212
8042 Zurich
Switzerland

Contact :

+ 41 58 105 2100 + 41 58 105 2160

Courtney Furner joined LALIVE in 2017. Her main areas of practice are international commercial and investment arbitration and public international law. She also has experience in commercial litigation.

Before joining LALIVE, Courtney Furner worked as Associate to the Honourable Justice Robert Mazza of the Supreme Court of Western Australia, Court of Appeal (2015-2016) and in the dispute resolution team of Norton Rose Fulbright in Perth, first as a trainee and then as an Associate (2010-2014). She has also tutored on civil procedure at the University of Western Australia (2015) and interned at the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia in The Hague (2008).

Courtney Furner is a member of numerous professional associations including the International Bar Association, Young ICCA, ArbitralWomen, the European Society of International Law, the International Law Association, the Australian and New Zealand Society of International Law and the German Academic Exchange Service Alumni Association. She has also judged mooting competitions, volunteered as a Humanitarian Observer with the Australian Red Cross’ Immigration Detention Program and acted as Deputy Convenor of the Young Lawyers’ Committee of the Law Society of Western Australia.

Courtney Furner was named Junior Woman Lawyer of the Year by Women Lawyers of Western Australia for her contribution to the legal profession in less than five years of legal practice (2015) and Dispute Resolution Scholar by the International Bar Association for an award-winning essay on international dispute resolution (2015).

Courtney Furner holds a Bachelor of Laws and a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Western Australia (2012) and an LL.M. in International Dispute Settlement (MIDS) from Geneva Law School and the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies (MIDS-Young ICCA Scholar and Valedictorian, 2016-2017). She has also undertaken legal studies at the University of Vienna (2007-2008), the European Academy of Otzenhausen (2009), Ludwig-Maximilian University Munich (2013), the University of Salzburg (2013) and The Hague Academy of International Law (2014). During her time at the University of Vienna, she represented Austria at the Telders International Law Moot Court Competition in The Hague at which she was awarded the prizes for Best Oralist and Best Written Memorial (Respondent).